Water Sports at the Olympics

Water Sports at the Olympics


Five disciplines (swimming, diving, water polo, artistic swimming, and marathon swimming) 46 events in total.

Water sports push competitors to the limits of speed, endurance, skill, and tactics.

Water sports include swimming, which involves swimming a certain distance as quickly as possible; Artistic Swimming and diving, which are judged on artistic and technical skills; water polo, which seeks to score with a ball; and the marathon, which takes place in open water.

Key Points

Swimming consists of swimming a given distance with a specified technique, and this faster than its competitors.

To improve his performance, starting and turning techniques are as important as improving his swimming speed.

At the dive, one judges a series of technical gestures and musical performance, from the moment of jumping from the jumpers or platforms to the entrance into the water.

Many complicated figures are executed between these two moments.

Water polo is played in a field set up in a swimming pool. Players make shots, assists, and scoring to score on opposing goals.

To win, the strategy is as important as endurance or technique.

Synchronized swimmers move their bodies according to the rhythm of the music; we judge the beauty of the performance, the synchronization between the music and the swimmers, the choreography as well as the artistic presentation.

Artistic swimming requires both endurance and elegance.

The marathon, unlike swimming in the swimming pool, requires knowledge of swimming in open water in addition to speed, as swimmers suffer the vagaries of the weather and the currents.


Swimming has been an Olympic event since the Athens Games of 1896.

It has always been a Summer Olympic Games discipline since the first edition of the games, with athletics, gymnastics, and fencing.

It’s a very popular game discipline.

Butterfly swimming, derived from breaststroke, became an independent discipline at the 1956 Melbourne Games.

Also, the dolphin kick of this swim is said to have been designed by a Japanese.

It was in 1984, during the Los Angeles Games, that Artistic Swimming became an official Olympic discipline.

An eight-team event was officiated at the 1996 Atlanta Games, so there are currently two events, team and duo.

Only women are allowed to participate in the Olympic Games for this discipline.

Synchronized diving, a diving event, was introduced at The Sydney 2000 Games.

Judgment is based on execution quality and timing between the two divers.

Water polo was born in England in the 1860s.

Initially, it was a matter of bringing the ball to a certain place, but violent confrontations to take the ball by all means having taken place underwater, new rules were established in the 1870s.

It is believed that this was the origin of water polo.

It became a sports discipline in the 1880s, spreading out of England; it became an Olympic discipline at the 1900 Paris Games.

This information is updated up to the next Summer Olympic Games that are going to take place in Tokyo in 2020. There will be an Olympic and Paralympic Games on which the Olympic preparation office is working hard.